How’s Your New Year?

January 15, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

A new year means a new start, regardless of what we may have endured or experienced in the one that just ended. The beauty about having sentient consciousness is that each and every day we are aware of a brand new canvas, a clean slate to start all over if we so wish. It is our choices that limit us, not the universe!

So, given that all the doomsday fools are going on about how we will all die this year, we might as well go out with a bang and live life to the fullest. (And when I say that, I do not mean for you to go and rob a bank or make some other stupid move that may end up hurting you or others, or may put you in jail.)

Living life to the fullest means that we can do the things that we have been putting off for whatever reason. We can maybe join this non-profit organization to volunteer our time or money. We can sign up for a gym and get a workout routine going. We can start the diet we wanted to start and maybe make up with those we have gotten in fights with. It’s never too late to say “I’m sorry.” We can start reading more and watching less TV; talking less and listening more and helping those who need it. We can take a long hard look at ourselves in the mirror and decide to be better people by being less selfish, less greedy, jealous and envious and more giving and forgiving. Or, we can just take it all in and smile. Choices!

As I get older, each year has me turn my attention a bit more to my own mortality. I live life with full recognition that I don’t really know how many tomorrows are on my schedule. No, it isn’t a doomsday outlook I have at all, but I’m very well aware of my own mortality, and that affords me all the freedom I need to recreate my life and/or reinvent myself as often as I see fit or find necessary. I really get it; Life is a terrible thing to waste!

Each and every one of us has been given the power to create. Unfortunately, we either don’t use this power at all, or we blatantly abuse it. This is a brand new year, and therefore a brand new opportunity to stop wasting what is so precious and what some would wish they’d have more of: time. The universe gives us infinite possibility and the ability to choose anew every day. So even if we’ve made the wrong choices all the way up to now, we have the freedom to start making new ones.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

